The Avengers: Age of Ultron

Age of Ultron is one of the best Marvel movies. (SPOILERS BEHIND THE CUT.)

The Winter Soldier might be slightly ahead. The first Avengers movie was great, but there were some boring moments. The fight sequence at the end went on for a little long, and the Avengers spent so much time fighting with each other instead of fighting Loki. That’s somewhat understandable since all their personalities are so different, but Civil War is enough conflict for me.

The tension between Tony and Steve in Ultron made sense since Civil Waris the next Marvel movie. The scriptwriters were smart to incorporate Tony’s vision into his motivation for creating Ultron. Tony doesn’t want to cause the death of the Avengers, especially Steve, and Tony really doesn’t want Steve to point out that Tony could have done more to help save them. Without this, Tony creating Ultron would have come out of left field. Instead, Tony’s heart is in the right place, just like in Civil War.

I had to laugh when I saw Civil War’s tagline: “Whose side are you on?” I’m guessing everyone is on Captain America’s side because if Civil Warmatches the comic, Iron Man kills Captain America, or at least does something that leads to Captain America’s death. Still, knowing that Tony thinks he’s doing the right thing will likely make him more sympathetic to the audience, even if they’re not on Tony’s side. Tony does what he does inCivil War because he cares about Steve, and Ultron is a good lead up to this.

Every other relationship in the movie made sense, too. I love that Hawkeye has a family. Hawkeye having a family just makes sense. Apart from the whole mind-control thing, he seems like he’s the most relaxed member of the Avengers. Ultron had so much action that the break was necessary, and the break actually gave Hawkeye the character development he needed! Hawkeye was mind-controlled for most of The Avengers and he hasn’t been in any of the other MCU movies, and I think Marvel would make a Hulk or Black Widow movie before they made a Hawkeye movie. If Ultron hadn’t developed Hawkeye’s character, we still wouldn’t know anything about him.

I wasn’t sure if I’d like Ultron, the Scarlet Witch, and Quick Silver, but they were great! Ultron is hilarious. I especially liked this line: “I’m glad you asked that, because I wanted to take this time to explain my evil plan.” Some reviewers think Ultron’s introduction was too sudden, but it wasn’t. Not every villain needs an intricate back story. I thought the first conversation between Jarvis and Ultron, which eventually mirrors the last conversation between the Vision and Ultron, was effective in explaining Ultron’s motivation. Not every villain has to be brooding and complicated. As Alfred said, “Some men just want to watch the world burn,” and Ultron is one of those men, er, machines.

Ultron’s origin story reminds me of Falcon’s in Winter Soldier. We don’t know that much about him except that he was in the military, he can relate to Steve, and when Steve and Natasha need a place to hide out, Sam let’s them stay at his place. Maybe we’ll learn more about him in future movies, but right now that little bit of information is enough. The same is true of Ultron. We find out enough about Ultron that he’s threatening, but not so much that we end up cheering for him like we do with Loki.

I’m sad that Quick Silver died. 😦 Also, Isn’t he supposed to be in the X-Men movies? I know that the X-Men are owned by Fox because Fox made a cartoon in the nineties (I could but won’t go on a rant about only the creators should ever be given copyright to something), but will they have to explain why Quick Silver is dead in the MCU and not in the XCU? Or will Joss pull a Coulson/Fury/Loki and bring him back to life? I hope so). Quick Silver and the Scarlet Witch just work off of each other so well. I’m surprised that Elizabeth Olson didn’t do more acting earlier, because she’s definitely the best actress in her family.

The best part of Ultron was definitely the romance between Hulk and the Black Widow. They’re absolutely perfect for each other, and I loved how much more developed Natasha’s character in comparison with previous movies. I liked her in Winter Soldier, but Ultron really humanised her. Natasha is the only one who can calm down the Hulk so that he can revert back to Bruce Banner because Natasha and Bruce are so similar. They both have dark pasts and they’re both unsure of where they fit in. I hope that their romance continues in Avengers 3, or in a Black Widow or Hulk movie.

If the best part of Ultron was Hulk and the Black Widow, the second best part was the humour. I’m going to see the movie again on Tuesday, and I can’t wait to hear Thor’s lines again. I love Thor in his own movies, but when he’s with people who aren’t Loki, Thor’s just so bizarre. I loved him trying to make Bruce feel better about the destruction the Hulk caused:

“The gates of hell are filled with the screams of his victims. But not the screams of the dead, of course. No, no. . . wounded screams. . . mainly whimpering, a great deal of complaining and tales of sprained deltoids and. . . gout.”

Later, Thor distracts Ultron so The Vision can hit Ultron with the hammer:

“I am Thor, son of Odin, as long as there’s life in my breast I .. am … running out of things to say. Are you ready?”

Speaking of Thor’s hammer (that sounds weird…moving on…), I like seeing movies in the cinema because other people’s reaction makes watching the movie more fun! When The Vision picked up the hammer, everyone in my auditorium gasped, and then started applauding. I think The Vision would actually be my only complaint about the movie. I’m not a comic book fan, so I might be missing something, but The Vision’s introduction seemed a little rushed. He served his purpose, though.

Overall, I’m giving Ultron my top rating of: Will see in cinemas twice.

Did you see Ultron? Did you like it? Which Marvel Chris is your favourite?

Let's Talk!

